London Underground - closed stations
Train Home Local Next

London Underground - closed stations


The following is a list of stations that were open on the London Underground network at some time but have since closed.

CentralBritish Museum Between Holborn & Tottenham Ct Rd 1933
Wood LaneNow part of White City Depot1947
Buckhurst HillSouth of present station1892
North WealdBeyond Epping1994
Blake HallBeyond Epping1981
OngarBeyond Epping1994
NorthernBull & Bush Between Hampstead & Golders Green
[excavated but never opened]
South Kentish Town Between Camden Town & Kentish Town1924
City RoadBetween Angel & Old St1922
King William StreetOriginal northern terminus of the City & South London Rly 1900
StockwellNorth of current station1924
MetropolitanSwiss Cottage Between Finchley Rd & Baker St1939
Marlborough RdBetween Finchley Rd & Baker St1940
LordsBetween Finchley Rd & Baker St1940
Kings Cross St PancrasEast of present station1941
Farringdon StreetWest of present station1865
Liverpool Street (terminus)North of present station1875
Branches beyond Amersham to Brill & Verney Junction 16 stations closed at various dates
Some still used by other services
White CityBetween Shepherd's Bush & Latimer Road1959
Shepherds BushSouth of present station1914
HammersmithOriginal terminus1868
Hammersmith (Grove Road) When Hammersmith branch ran through to Richmond1906
Uxbridge RoadOn branch from Latimer Road to Kensington1940
Westbourne ParkWest of present station1871
PiccadillyYork RoadBetween Kings Cross & Caldonian Rd1932
AldwychBranch from Holborn1994
Down StBetween Green Park & Hyde Park Corner1932
Brompton RdBetween Knightsbridge & S Kensington1934
Osterley & Spring Grove Between Osterley & Boston Manor1934
Park Royal & Twyford Abbey Between Park Royal & Alperton
Replaced by Park Royal
Uxbridge Belmont RoadOn site of present carriage sidings1938
HillingdonEast of present station1992
DistrictSt Marys (Whitechapel Road) Between Aldgate East & Whitechapel1938
New CrossBranch1886
Aldgate EastLondon side of present station1938
Tower HillMonument side of current station1967
Earls CourtGloucester Road side of current station1878
South ActonBranch from Acton Town1959
Northfields & Little Ealing Just south of present Northfields which replaced it1932
Hounslow TownBranch1909
JubileeCharing Cross Original southern terminus1999


Editor's note:

Train Home Top Local Next
Top of