
APPEAL No 3:  Chaos in the club!
08.003  BGB Summer Simultaneous Pairs
Tournament Director:

Eric Favager
Referee:
Anne Jones   

Note by editor:

A Referee is an Appeals Committee consisting of one person.
This hand occurred in a Simultaneous Pairs, which is a nationally run event but with individual heats in clubs as ordinary club nights.  Thus the TD was the TD in the club.  However the appeal was made to the WBU.
	MP Pairs
Board no 25
Dealer North
E/W vulnerable
	( 4
( T8765
( AKQ2
( K62
	

	( AQJ986
( 4
( 865
( QT9
	N

W                     E

S
	( T7532
( A9
( 94
( A754

	
	( K
( KQJ52
( JT73
( J83
	


Basic systems:

North-South play Benjaminised Acol
East-West play Acol
	WEST
	NORTH
	EAST
	SOUTH

	
	1♥
	Pass
	3♠ (A1)

	Pass (2)
	4♦
	Pass (3)
	4♥

	4♠
	5♥
	Dble
	Pass

	Pass
	Pass
	
	


(1) Alert made by tapping the table.
(2) West passed but after realising the tapping was an alert wanted to bid 4♠,  This was disallowed by South.

(3) East wanted to bid 4♠.  At this point the playing TD was called but did not arrive and play continued.  East was discouraged by South from bidding 4♠ so passed.
Result at table:

5♥ doubled –1 by North, NS –100
Director first called:

After East’s pause over 4♦.  Actually arrived after play finished.
Director’s statement of facts:

East attempted to bid on second round – dissuaded, therefore hesitation.
North clear about alert, West not familiar with tapping table to alert, then tried to bid 4♠.

If director had been called, this may or may not have been allowed.  But hand was going to playing director’s table next.
West misguidedly bid 4♠ this time, because of intent on bidding 3♠ first time.  Hesitation, from attempted bid by East influences this bid.
Strictly speaking the 4♠ bid should be disallowed because there were alternatives (pass, double) which were ignored.

If 3♠ had been allowed the first time round, then I can well see 5♥ doubled being final contract (4♠ is a make).

Director’s ruling:

Score assigned for both sides:


5♥ –1 by North, NS –50
Details of ruling:

On discussion with all four players and John Salisbury and inspection of results, I removed the double to restore equity.

This changed the N/S matchpoints from 3/12 to 8/12 – better than 60/40.  Most 4♥ contracts were 1 off, some 2 off.  One 3♥ just made.

Note by editor:

It is not clear where John Salisbury comes into it: he is not one of the players at the table.  He is an excellent player.  Bidding boxes were in use and alerts by regulation have to be given by use of the alert card.  Previous to bidding boxes, alerting in Wales was by knocking the table but it is many years since spoken bidding was used.
Appeal lodged by:

North-South

Director’s comments:

No deposit taken because telephone referee (email).
Comments by North-South:

Over 4♦ East attempts to bid touching cards in box.  South said “I think we should call the director now”.  East went to fetch director.  While waiting East said “I’ll not bother” and passed.
Director called at end of session.  Details for the above bidding given, and director brought it back to 4♥.

…as happy with that decision, then John Salisbury said the ten tricks should be reduced to nine as it doesn’t make ten, if de…………upset and sad that wasn’t on.  North had made ten and ten it should be.  I asked East if the spades had not been mentioned …………. would have led and she said exactly the same.

This is exactly as I recall it, your comments would be appreciated.

Note by editor:

Exactly as typed on the form.  The typing goes off both sides of the form.

Referee’s decision:

Table score re-instated

No deposit taken

Referee’s comments:

Alert was tenuous and not understood immediately it was made., so initial pass was under MI.  4♠ bid by West should have been allowed.
It is North’s duty to ensure that West has seen and understands that an alert has been made, and this it would appear had not happened, so the 4♠ bid should have been allowed. If this had happened East would not have given the unauthorised information that she did. If North was mindful to stop the 4♠ bid by West they should not have called until a ID had sorted the problem.
I am aware of the unauthorised information given to West by East but I do not think West used it. West was always wanting to bid 4S and had made this clear from the start.
I was in some doubt as to who had doubled, but I now understand that it was East. East has no unauthorised information as 4S has now been bid in the legal auction, so is under no constraint, and is free to bid whatever they like. (I would not have allowed a double by West, because Pass would be a logical alternative given that West has UI.

My ruling is that the table result should stand. 5Hx-1.

TD should always he available to give a ruling, even if playing.

N/S should not rule in the absence of the TD especially if such ruling damages E/W.

