
APPEAL No 2: It’s not for takeout?

08.003 Swiss Teams Congress
Tournament Director:

Barrie Partridge
Appeals Committee:

Jeremy Dhondy (Chairman), David Burn, Richard Bowdery
	IMPs to VPs
Board no 9
Dealer N
EW vulnerable
	( Q 10 8 5
( 2
( A Q 7 3
( K Q 8 7
	

	( K 9 4
( J 10 9 5
( 9 6 4
( 10 9 2
	N

W                     E

S
	( J 6
( A Q 7 6
( K J 10 5 2
( J 5

	
	( A 7 3 2
( K 8 4 3
( 8
( A 6 4 3
	


Basic systems:

North-South play Strong club, Precision style
East-West play SAYC
	WEST
	NORTH
	EAST
	SOUTH

	
	1((A1)
	Pass
Dble (2)
	Redble

	pass
	pass
1NT (3)
	pass (3)
pass
	pass

	pass
	
	
	


(1) Precision style with 2+ diamonds
(2) E passed before 1( was alerted. The players decided amongst themselves to allow a change of call by E. double was for penalties, not alerted.

(3) See TD statement of facts.
Result at table:

1NT + 2 by North, NS +150
Director first called:

At point (3) in the auction.

Director’s statement of facts:
EW had a clear agreement that the double of 1( was for penalties but were unaware that it was alertable. This is an area found confusing by some players and EW play more frequently in France. OB 5H2 states that tolerance should be applied although adjustments may be necessary when the opponents have been damaged.
First though it was possible under L21B for N to change his final call but it was not possible for S to do so. N changed his call to 1NT and, as shown, this was passed out. This made 9 tricks. I was called back and S claimed that despite N having been allowed to change his pass, their side were still damaged as, with correct information, S would not have redoubled but bid 1(, whereupon N would bid 1( and they would reach the making spade game. A ruling under L21B3 was thus requested.
Note by editor:

OB 5H2:

For a year from the effective date of this Orange Book a certain amount of latitude should be shown to players while they get used to the new alerting and announcing rules. Penalties should only be given to repeat offenders who make no effort whatever to follow the new rules. Adjustments may be necessary where the opponents have been damaged, but 5 H 1 should be remembered.

Director’s ruling:

Table result stands

Details of ruling:

The TD consulted with colleagues and they considered that South, with her holding, should be aware of the likely meaning of the double and had the opportunity to ask without putting her side’s interest at risk. The TD ruled the result to stand. (L21B1 and 3, 21 and 9B1 (see below). Also OB 5H1 and 2 refers.
Note by editor:

OB 5H1:

A player’s claim to have been damaged because the opponents failed to alert or announce a call will fail if it is judged that the player was aware of its likely meaning and if he had the opportunity to ask without putting his side’s interests at risk.

Appeal lodged by:

East-West

Basis of appeal:

Misinformation. Would reach 4(
Director’s comments:

In addition to taking account of OB 5H1, the TD and his colleagues considered the effect of not taking such account, but concluded that if South had known that the double was for penalties, then in view of the actual bidding decisions made, the probability of N/S reaching a spade game contract was too low to consider a ruling under L12C3. North’s action in bidding 1NT is odd. 1( seems a much more normal action and they consider 1NT to be wild or gambling.
The TD also learned that at the table, East passed before the 1( was alerted. The players decided amongst themselves to allow a change of call by East.  Law 21 states ‘until the end of the auction, a player may, without penalty, change a call when it is probable he made the call as a result of misinformation given to him by an opponent (failure to alert promptly….)’

However Law 9B1 states ‘the director must be summoned at once when attention is drawn to an irregularity’.

Players cannot make changes of call under Law 21 without the TD. The TD needs to establish the probability that the original call has been made as a result of misinformation. This would certainly have made it clear that the change was because 1( doubled becomes penalty when 1( was alerted.

Appeals Committee decision:

Director’s ruling upheld

Deposit returned

Appeals Committee’s comments:

The failure of NS to get to 4( was not a result of misinformation but the choice of N to bid 1NT. When he changed his call to 1NT he had the info (authorised) that S had a real (9+) redouble and it was his choice that led to the problem.
NB we did not agree that 1NT was wild or gambling (TD’s additional notes) but we did think it inferior.

Both sides should be reminded of their responsibilities to call the TD in the event of an infraction. EW should also have alerted the double of 1( if it were agreed to be penalty. (W apologised at the appeal for his failure to do so). Their agreement if as stated should be on the card.

