|Quote: Toffee at 19:28:10 Fri Jun 21 2002|
defenders can require club is played since no line was given - thereby ruffing this. It is not impossible that declarer has forgotten trump is out (indeed for one to be outstanding against declarer at trick 12 is quite rare)
Not in duplicate, they can't. Once a claim is made, play ceases. The director is to be called if the claim is contested. He should require declarer to repeat his line of play statement (without amplification), and then require all four hands to be faced, and hear defender's objections. In this case, defenders rightly point out that if declarer leads the CK, West gets a ruff. Unless it is absolutely clear that declarer intended to lead the SA (for example, declarer had just been drawing trumps, and it is clear he had a count of them), TD should rule one trick to defenders. But not if TD is convinced declarer would have drawn the last trump. (In the given case, I don't see any reason to believe declarer would have led the trump).
Ruling: one of the last two tricks to defenders, under Law 70C.