|bridgetalk.com forums :: Laws & Rulings :: Concessions Law 68
International Bridge Laws Forum
If you need help with the Laws or rulings from
any country in the world, this is the place!
Hosted by David Stevenson
Senior Consultant Director
English Bridge Union
|To ask a question, click HERE and type in your message.|
Please specify your country in your query where indicated.
Right click your mouse button for help on abbreviations.
|View Thread Page(s): [ 1 ] |
Concessions Law 68 ( 02:56:06 MonJul 8 2002 ) |
If I immediately object to partner's concession of the remaining tricks and summons the director , does play continue with L16 applying or does play cease with the director awarding the remaining tricks to each side as if there had been a claim or concession .
Re: Concessions Law 68 ( 12:53:21 MonJul 8 2002 ) |
Yes, if your partner concedes and you (a defeneder) object
then play continues. Isn't that what L68B says?
More interesting is when partner claims some but not all of
the remaining tricks, thereby conceding the remainder. You
may object to that concession, and if so there is a question
as to whether play continues. I (and others) thought play
ceased because of the claim, but the instruction from the
EBU L&E is that play continues, as perl Law68B.
Re: Concessions Law 68 ( 16:52:28 MonJul 8 2002 ) |
Any statement to the effect that a contestant will lose a specific number of tricks is a concession of those tricks; a claim of some number of tricks is a concession of the remainder, if any. A player concedes all the remaining tricks when he abandons his hand. Regardless of the foregoing, if a defender attempts to concede one or more tricks and his partner immediately objects, no concession has occured; Law 16, Unauthorized Information, may apply, so the Director should be summoned forthwith.
Re: Concessions Law 68 ( 00:17:36 TueJul 9 2002 ) |
In some ways the wording of the Law is unhelpful. Jim has quoted the correct Law, but as Robin notes, there is some doubt when a player concedes some but not all of the remaining tricks.
If a player concedes all the remaining tricks, and his partner immediately objects, then no concession has occurred and play continues. That is clear, and there can be no argument.
If a player concedes some but not all of the remining tricks then he has claimed the remainder. While "no concession has occurred" if his partner immediately objects what happens to the claim?
Well, despite what several authorities think is how the law reads, it is now clear: the WBF Laws Committee has stated that no claim has occurred either, so play proceeds.
David Stevenson <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Liverpool, England, UK
|View Thread Page(s): [ 1 ] |
6 bridge player(s) online in the last 15 minutes - 1 bridgetalk member(s), 0 incognito and 5 guest(s).|
(The most ever was 52 09:45:43 Fri Feb 14 2003)
Powered By BbBoard V1.4.2
Total Members: 393, Newest Member: edm.|| Register :: Log in |
The time is now 00:49:26 Wed Aug 27 2003
© 2001-2003 BbBoy.net