Yes, I know the AC was right in reversing the diector's ruling, but (and I didn't put in all of the background here) I think it's possible that the defender in question WAS trying to put one across and that so, should have been penalised in some way.
That defender was a very experienced player - it's inconceivable that he could not know that going down 13 (or even 9 for that matter) would exceed the grand slam score. It was thought that he was deliberately pausing in order to cause confusion.
A player may not attempt to mislead an opponent by means of remark or gesture, through the haste or hesitancy of a call or play (as in hesitating before playing a singleton), or by the manner in which the call or play is made.
I thought possibly the given situation might be covered by the above rule. If so, how could/would it be dealt with?