|Quote: Jim O|
The Director may find that the call was inadvertent, and rule that Law 25A applies.
This worries me slightly, and it seems to me from reports form Noth America that TDs in the ACBL may be going wrong in this area.
For a change under Law 25A
- a call must be inadvertent
- it must be changed [or an attempted change] without pause for thought
- it must be changed [or an attempted change] before partner calls
When a player makes an insufficient bid, and makes no attempt to change it, and the TD is called, the TD has no reason to consider Law 25A, and that Law does not apply since there was no change or attempted change.
When a TD is called to the table he gets the facts. if those facts do not include any attempt to change the call then there is no reason for him to discover whether the call is inadvertent: it does not matter.
One other way that TDs sometimes go wrong everywhere: they must not offer the next player the chance to accept the insufficient bid before they have explained all the options.