Small point - Ed is still right, but his quote says nothing about this particular auction. Perhaps a more obvious quote would be
|Quote: ACBL Alert Procedure|
NOTE: Partnerships whose systems include extremely aggressive methods,...must pre-Alert the opponents before the round begins.
(examples snipped - again, they are mostly in the order of length of suit, not strength of overcall; emphasis in original).
I would say (and have said, when I play this style) that KJTxxx and out as a *non-jump* 2-level overcall is "extremely aggressive" and Pre-Alert. I definately believe this treatment requires a regular Alert at the time, based on this quote:
|Quote: ACBL Alert Procedure|
Treatments [natural - mycroft] that show unusual strength or shape should be Alerted.
Therefore, agreeing to weak non-jump 2-level overcalls is legal - if Alerted.
So, were you misinformed? Well, maybe. There are a couple of different cases, all based on their agreement being "standard" enough to be non-Alertable:
1. Their agreement could be "standard", and the 2H bidder thought you had opened 1C or 1D. Then it would be, in his eyes, a standard preemptive jump overcall. A player is allowed to misbid for whatever reason - provided the bid is otherwise legal. Usually all it does is harm the misbidder. When it doesn't, oh well, tough luck.
2. Unlikely in this case, but it is legal to miscount, too. If he thought he had had AKJxxxx and the stiff spade, that might be arguably a "standard" 2H overcall, especially vulnerable.
3. It is legal to make a psychic call. The Laws have some rather severe restrictions on psychics, and allow organizations like the ACBL latitude to make restrictions on psychic calls of conventional bids (and conventional bids designed to expose the psychic call). But provided their agreement of (1S)-2H is "standard", and that there is not a history leading overcaller's partner to think "partner may be fooling again", and that overcaller's partner didn't do something highly unusual like pass with a decent opener with 4 hearts, the 2H bidder got away with it. Again, it's a losing tactic in general, but sometimes brings great gains, not the least of which is that opponents tend to disbelieve people "because he psychs, you know", even the 99.95% of the time she's telling the truth!
Please, call the Director when this sort of thing happens. Especially call the TD rather than fuming and grousing at the overcaller
- that is a violation of the Proprieties, and in ACBL-land, a Zero Tolerance infraction that will (ok, should) get strongly penalized. Just call the TD, and explain calmly the situation, and that you aren't sure if this is legal/if you've been misinformed/what's going on (whatever is true). The TD will find out the appropriate information (in this case, at least including what their agreement is and if the bid does not follow their agreement, why) and rule. If this was their agreement, the TD will explain to the opponents what their obligations are, as well.
The mantra: if something unusual happens, call the Director! (oh, if your partner misexplains, call the TD at the correct time - know when that is, and then it won't be "unusual"!)