|bridgetalk.com forums :: Laws & Rulings :: wrong explication
International Bridge Laws Forum
If you need help with the Laws or rulings from
any country in the world, this is the place!
Hosted by David Stevenson
Senior Consultant Director
English Bridge Union
|To ask a question, click HERE and type in your message.|
Please specify your country in your query where indicated.
Right click your mouse button for help on abbreviations.
|View Thread Page(s): [ 1 ] |
wrong explication ( 11:47:42 TueJun 3 2003 ) |
Say the auction is competitive, everyone bidding, and at a moment, E doubles the 3C last N's bid. W is asked and says penalty ( according to his bridge logic ). In fact, it was an error from E who thought his double was take out. S runs to 3H, doubled by W, and N bids 4C, doubled by E, final contract.
What attitude E must have ? Does he need to call the D only at the end of the play or at the moment he listens W give the explanation, knowing that his error is probably ending in N-S difficulty ?
James Vickers |
Re: wrong explication ( 13:10:24 TueJun 3 2003 ) |
if you hear your partner give a wrong explanation of your call, the time to call the director and correct the explanation is when the correction can no longer influence your partner. This is after the last pass of the auction if you are due to become the declaring side, or at the end of play if you are due to defend the contract. You should never offer an immediate correction, in the middle of the auction.
The reason for the above is that players must be allowed to suffer from their own misunderstandings, and so must be given as much rope as they need in the hope that they hang themselves.
In your case the offenders were on the defending side and so the end of play was the correct time. If there is no clear evidence as to what the agreement is the director should rule misinformation and adjust the score if he can find evidence that the non-offenders might have been damaged by the misexplanation (quite likely here).
Just three final points:
(1) If you explain partner's call and later realise of your own accord (i.e. nothing your partner did woke you up) that your explanation was incorrect, you must call the director and offer an immediate correction. (Note that here you are correcting _your own_ misexplanation.)
(2) If you misbid or psyche and partner gives an explanation which correctly reflects your agreements, there is no requirement to draw attention to this at any time. You must, however, be certain that it was the bid that was wrong, and not the explanation.
(3) Note that you must always call the director before you offer a correction. Many players neglect to do this, but note that it is a legal requirement.
|View Thread Page(s): [ 1 ] |
7 bridge player(s) online in the last 15 minutes - 1 bridgetalk member(s), 0 incognito and 6 guest(s).|
(The most ever was 52 09:45:43 Fri Feb 14 2003)
Powered By BbBoard V1.4.2
Total Members: 393, Newest Member: edm.|| Register :: Log in |
The time is now 00:29:58 Wed Aug 27 2003
© 2001-2003 BbBoy.net