Re: Insufficient attention and bid ( 16:03:52 ThuJun 12 2003 ) |
The auction started 2D-2C-P and now the TD is called.
Apart from the insufficient bid, there is the question of
whether 2D was alerted (assuming 2D is alertable).
If 2D was alerted before 2C there is no problem with the
alert and the pass accepts the insufficient bid. The
If 2D was alerted after 2C or not at all, and it became
clear that 2D was alertable, then the TD should consider
"Until the end of the auction period (see Law 17E), a player
may, without penalty, change a call when it is probable that
he made the call as a result of misinformation given to him
by an opponent (failure to alert promptly to a conventional
call or special understanding, where such alert is required
by the sponsoring organisation, is deemed misinformation),
provided that his partner has not subsequently called."
The TD could explain the law to North and tell him he can
change 2C if the law applies. Alternatively, the TD could
rule that is was in no way probable that North bid 2C as
a result of the failure to alert and no allow 2C to be changed.
Perhaps I would talk to North away from the table. I suppose
it is likely that had 2D been alerted he would have noticed
that it was 2D. Is this sufficient for L21B1 to apply?