Re: Dropped Card ( 00:03:25 WedAug 6 2003 ) |
I would probably penalise declarer for deliberate bridge lawyering. He sounds the sort of player we can do well without.
When the club was dropped the Director should have been called. Failure to do so, and then waiting until an advantage is likely to be gained, and then calling the Director is just not acceptable.
Fortunately there is a Law for people like this, 11A, which means the Director now need not enforce the penalty. Furthermore, he can deem the card dropped not a penalty card - see Law 50.
So the correct ruling is to tell the defender to put the little club back in his hand, and tell declarer that if he wants his rights under the Laws he should call the Director, not rule himself.
David Stevenson <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Liverpool, England, UK