North: S: 98xx H: - D: xxxx C: 9xxxx
East: S: QJ10x H: Qxxx D: Kx C:Axx
South: S: K7xx H: AKx D: xxx C: KJx
West: S: A H: J10xxx D:AQxx C:Q10
North passed and East opened 1C (West later claimed he announced 'may be short' - South wasn't paying attention and North claimed he didn't hear that). South overcalled 1NT and West doubled. North asked about 1C, upon hearing that it might be short, bid 2C. East passed and South agonized. South reasoned that the question indicated that North had clubs and thus decided to 'go the other way' and treat 2C as STAYMAN (they partnered each other once before only, and agreed 'System On' for 1NT overcall) so he answered 2S. Two passes and East doubled, after that all passed.
N E S W
P 1C 1NT X
2C P 2S P
P X All passed.
West led the queen of clubs, not a great success. South played well and managed only two down (ace of clubs by East, club continued. South won and discard 2 diamonds on his AK hearts. heart ruff in dummy and low club to jack. West ruffed with ace and played 3 rounds of diamonds. Dummy ruff high and East overuffed. Heart return ruffed by South and diamond ruff high and overuffed. South must made two more tricks with K7x trumps.) East-West cried foul and asked for a ruling. East-West contended that North Question made certain that South would answer Stayman and that South pass of 2C should be LA.
South countered that he's in a no-win situation no matter how he bid as North's question could be interpret both ways. I was the director and to get the game going I ruled that the table result stand as it was due largely to a unfortunate lead and South's fine play that East-West missed their heavy penalty. I of course informed the players their rights to appeal but in the end N-S's team won by a big enough margin to make this board a non-issue. Still, academically it will be interesting to know how should the ruling be.